Tournament winner Payton Nabak, far right, poses with his championship belt. He also won $1,000 with it. Nabak bowled back-to-back 300 games in two of the last four games he played on Jan. 28.  (Submitted photo)

TK’s Championship Scratch Tournament held at Cougar Lanes

Payton Nabak rolled back-to-back 300 games

On Jan. 27 and 28, Cougar Lanes in Clinton hosted their 4th annual TK’s Championship Scratch Bowling Tournament, having sponsored it along with Big Radio. 99 bowlers over two shifts on Jan. 27 competed to qualify for the championship round on Jan. 28. The top 36 bowlers were invited back to bowl on a random challenge/sport pattern to try and win the top prize of $1,000 and the championship belt.

Day one: qualifier bowlers bowled four games on the USBC Blue 2 pattern.

Day two: championship round 36 bowlers bowled three games on the Great Wall of China pattern. After three games, it was cut to the top 16 bowlers and they bowled one game, cutting the field in half after each game until a winner was found

Payton Nabak wins the Championship
22-year-old Payton Nabak, of Waukesha, bowled amazing both days of the tournament. On Jan. 27, he bowled 266, 276, 256, and 214  – 1012 for a four game series – and finished #1 seed going into that Sunday’s championship. There, he was also on top after the first three games before the cut, bowling 277, 237, and 236 – a 750 series. It was in the championship finals where he got the crowd going. For the Top 16 round, he bowled a 279 game, for the Top 8 round he bowled a 300 game, for the Top 4 round he again bowled a 300, and for the Top 2 round he ended with a 238 game. Nabak had back-to-back 300 games and won the Championship Belt. He averaged 261 through the tournament.

• First place, $1,000 prize and Championship Belt: Payton Nabak
• Second place and $500 prize: Josh Elrod
• Third place and $250 prize: Jeremy Kenyon
• Fourth place and $250 prize: Ron Gwaltney
• Fifth through eighth places with $130 prize each: Calvin Akers, Rick Lewin, Todd Kjell, and Brad Hebbe
• Ninth through 16th place with $80 prize each: Tristan Albrecht, Bryan Spigarelli, Chris Smith, TK, Joseph Albrecht, Rick Reynolds, Otto Meccia, and Mathew Nowack
• 17th through 36th place with $50 prize each: Johnny Ward, Dave Rhyner, Brendan Donlevy, Ryan Torkilson, Jenny Wonders, Scott Lyons, Alex Edwards, Dylan Wilde, Steve Jacobs, Anthony Javanovich, Lyle Schober, Jeff Edwards, Jerry Vandenlangenberg, Dennis Muth, Ethan Jones, Eric Larson, Joe Duarte, Justin Weiss, and Roger Higbeet
• Total prize money given away: $4,165