Lynn M. Johnston (left center) and Brian Shearer (right center) were the local, county and third district American Legion service award winners. Johnston was recognized as Brodhead’s Emergency Medical Technician of the Year, and Shearer was recognized as Brodhead’s Firefighter of the Year. Brodhead American Legion Post 197 recognized the pair who will now be eligible for the state awards which will be presented at the annual convention held in Appleton in July. The American Legion Third District consists of the following counties: Crawford, Dane, Grant, Green, Iowa, Lafayette, and Richland. Pictured with Johnston and Shearer are Mike McGoff, post treasurer (far left), and Bruce Sutherland, post commander (far right).